The Almost Red Velvet Cupcakes

Ever since I read a lot of people mentioning this particular cake on blog post, twitter, facebook or just post the picture in instagram, I’ve been wanting to make it myself. The bright red color looks really appealing and it will be interesting on taking pictures of it. The only problem (well, beside my acute laziness) is that I don’t have muffin/cupcakes tray. So after a while nagging asking my husband to buy me one, he finally granted it two days ago… Yeaaaay…

Since I had all the things I needed, I didn’t want to waste anytime and tried it right away. Found a recipe by anakjajan.com that I’ve been interested for a while and I was so excited to try it. The recipe was a modification from a recipe by Joyofbaking. It’s been slightly changed, but still it taste amazing..

Ingredients for Red Velvet Cupcakes:

125 grams all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
10 grams cocoa powder
57 grams unsalted butter – room temperature
80 grams granulated white sugar.
1 egg (room temp)
120 ml buttermilk (to make buttermilk, mix 120 ml milk with ½ table spoon of vinegar or lemon)
1 tablespoon liquid red food coloring
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon white distilled vinegar
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Ingredients for Cream Cheese Frosting: (1/2 measurement is enough for the recipe above)

227 grams cream cheese (cold)
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
60 grams granulated white sugar.
160 ml whipping cream (cold)

How to:

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Preheat the oven to 175°C
In a mixing bowl add flour, baking powder, salt and cocoa powder.
Beat the butter with a hand mixer or electric mixer until soft. Add the sugar (mix it for 1-2 minutes), continue with the egg and vanilla.
Whisk together the buttermilk and the food coloring.
Add the flour mixture into the batter alternately with buttermilk (flour – buttermilk – flour – buttermilk) while still mixing.
Combine the vinegar and baking soda. Let it fizz and quickly fold into the batter using spatula.
Work quickly, put the batter into the paper cups and bake it for ± 20 minutes.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Beat the cream cheese until soft.
Add the vanilla extract and the sugar. Mix it well.
Add the whipping cream and continue mixing until the frosting blend together nicely and when you turn the bowl, the batter still stick.
Let the cupcakes cool down (you can also put it in the refrigerator) before adding the frosting.

Serving: ± 19 pieces of mini cupcakes

Source: anakjajan.com (visit their blog for the complete instructions with pictures)

* * * *

I love this recipe.. The instructions are easy to follow and again.. it taste amaaaazing. Anakjajan’s decision to cut the sugar down to 80 grams is right on the spot. The cupcakes’ sweetness level is perfect and when you combine it with the cream cheese frosting.. uumhh.. simply heaven… ^__^

As you can see on the picture above, I really need to work on my piping skill of the frosting. It’s was a complete catastrophe because I got too excited on the first few cupcakes and when I got to the last few pieces of the batch, I already ran out of cream cheese… LMAO *sigh*

Oh yeah about the title… I call it the almost red velvet cupcakes because the cupcakes are still chocolaty than reddish. Maybe that’s because I only used 1 teaspoon of food coloring instead of 1 tablespoon. I didn’t want it to be too red. I should add 1 more teaspoon the next time I want to try this recipe again.

11 thoughts on “The Almost Red Velvet Cupcakes

  1. Hi, Bebe. The top photo is quite pretty! The bright pink paper works well for the Red Velvet Cupcake. Red Velvet Cake is not my favorite cake. If you add enough food coloring to make the chocolate cake turn red, then you can really taste the food coloring. Flavor-wise, you probably made the right call in reducing the food coloring.

    • Hi Laurie..🙂
      Yeah.. a friend of mine also made the same comment when I “complain” about the cake look not too red and also another friend told me that I can use beets to give a natural red color to the cake. But when I google around on how to use it, wow… so much to do.. lol.. Anyway.. Thanks ^_^

    • my daughters just made these cupcakes and they stayed a brown colour….the recipe said to use salt but it was forgotten about. would this have made any difference to the colour?????

      • Hi Lesley,
        I don’t think it’s because of the salt. I think it’s mostly about the amount of food coloring we use on the recipe. If you really want a bright red, you should add more food coloring into the batter, but then it might effect the overall taste also. The one I made also still brownish color since I didn’t use too much red color. But the taste still good.

        The other method to achieve the red color to use beet root, but then I still haven’t try that method yet.

  2. Nice shots you’ve got there! Like Laurie I think the colors come together nicely. It’s just too bad the background is wight like the topping. It doesn’t make it stand out like it should… but it hey! looks delicious!
    One question: what kind of lens are you using?
    Keep up the good work!

    • Yeah.. I did notice it when I edited the pictures… Had a bit of trouble to make the topping and the background not blending with each other… :(( I really need to buy more props for the photo shoot.. Thanks for the input..

      I’m using Canon 50mm f/1.8 for food photography.. and for the regular usage, I have Tamron AF 17-50mm F/2.8 SP XR Di II VC..😀

      and thanks again.. ^__^

  3. Pingback: Red Velvet Cupcakes « The Cupcake Blog

  4. Pingback: Red Velvet Cupcakes | The art of cupcake

  5. Pingback: Red Velvet Cupcakes — Cupcake Pictures

Leave a Reply

