Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts

Few weeks ago, me and my husband went to my Indonesian friend’s birthday party in Landskrona. We ate many different kinds of delicious Indonesian food. I felt like I’m home for a while. For desserts, one of the guys came brought along a Hong Kong style egg tart. Honestly, it was my first time ever to try an egg tart. So at first I thought that it was a pudding, because of the texture was almost the same between those two… X__X

The egg tart he made was really delicious that I spent the rest of the day interrogate him on the recipe and how to make it. He didn’t tell me the step-by-step process, but he did gave me  the important point to make the egg tart works. So yesterday, I finally tried it and it was a success.. woohooooo…

The recipe for the tart and the custard on my version of the egg tart came from different sources. And here it is…

Tart Crust Ingredients:

  • 220 g all-purposed flour (about 1.5 cups)
  • 2-3 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
  • 150 g butter, cut to small cubes.
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

How To:

  1. Sift the flour and confectioners’ sugar into a mixing bowl.
  2. Add in the butter, egg, and salt. Mix it together. If you use a hand mixer, make sure it’s on the lowest speed.
  3. Once the dough comes together, shape it into 12 pieces of round-shaped balls.
  4. Place the dough into your muffin pan or tart mold and use your thumb to press and shape the walls.

Source: http://anjelikuh.blogspot.se/2009/01/chinese-egg-tarts.html

Custard Filling Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 9 eggs, beaten
  • 1 dash vanilla extract
  • 1 can (397 gram) evaporated milk — (I used sweetened condensed milk)

How to:

  • Put the water in a bowl.
  • Strain the eggs through a sieve, and whisk into the water.
  • Add the evaporated milk and vanilla.
  • Strain the filling through a sieve, and fill the tart shells

Source: a modification recipe from http://allrecipes.com/recipe/hong-kong-style-egg-tarts/

How To make the Egg Tart:

  1. Pour the custard into the tart shells.
  2. Bake at 180ºC (350ºF) for 25 minutes until the crust turns golden brown.
  3. To tell if they’re done, shake your muffin pan and the egg custard should be firm and jiggly like jello.
  4. Cool for 30 minutes and gently lift them out with a butter knife.

Source: http://anjelikuh.blogspot.se/2009/01/chinese-egg-tarts.html

* * * *

The important point that my friend told me was to skip adding sugar when making the custard because the sweetness from the sweetened condensed milk was enough. And I can’t agree more on that. I could only imagine the level of sweetness if I add 2/3 cup of sugar into the ingredients (as said on the original recipe). The crust itself tasted really nice. It has a little bit of sweet taste and it blends really well with the custard. I love it.

For the mold, I used muffin pan instead of tart mold. Mind you that it might be a bit of a challenge to pulled it out from the form, but after 3 or maybe 4 crushed egg tart, you’ll get a hang of it.😀 BTW, since the tart recipe only can produce 12 bits of crust, I put the rest of the filling in few small baking forms and baked it as a “pudding”.. ^_^

In the end, I really satisfied with the result. The only thing that I’m not sure was the temperature of the oven. Both recipes that I looked into said two different settings. I ended up using the one which I took the tart recipe from. But I add another 5 minutes when I baked it. Any suggestion on how hot it’s supposed to be?

24 thoughts on “Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts

  1. Aku juga udah lama pengen bikin ini tapi ga inget2.. hehehe… ntar aku coba resep ini ya🙂
    Btw, mo oot dikit. Itu timbangan yang dibelakang sama loh, tapi punyaku baru dijual minggu lalu.. hehehe😀

    • Hihihi.. aku juga setelah berminggu2 akhirnya baru bikin juga nih.. ahahaha..

      Aku pusing Dha pake timbangan itu.. maunya yang elektronik aja lah itungannya.. biar pas.. ini kadang2 agak cap cip cup ngukurnya..

      • Iya, dulu juga belinya krna itu yang paling murah. Tapi akhirnya dijual juga. Pgn beli yg digital blm sempet2, jadi udah hampir 2 minggu hidup tanpa timbangan, pke piling aja.. hehehe

        • Hebaaaat ih piling so strongnya… hihihi.. btw, condensed milk sama evaporated milk itu sama ga sih Dha? tadi aku tulis pake evaporated milk, tapi akhirnya aku ubah jadi condensed milk..

          • wakaka… klo jadi ya sukur beruntung, klo ga ya salah sendiri kenapa ga pake timbangan😀
            Beda. condensed = kental manis. evaporated lebih cair.. hmmm.. mirip susu carnation itu loh klo di indo

  2. This is one of my favorite desserts – a childhood favorite! I love the ones with the flaky, puff pasty crust, but I just can never get it right at home without the ready-made frozen boxes. Mmm I’ll have give it another try – it’s been awhile🙂 Thanks for the reminder!

    • You’re welcome. Maybe I should give it a try with the ready-made puff pastry crust too.. To see what’s the different between those two. ^__^

      • Definitely do! It adds such great texture and fluffiness to it too, but that’s just my personal choice. A lot of people prefer the way you made it, and they look great🙂

        • Thanks.. It’s always a good idea to try it again with different tweaks here and there. Just to know what works and what’s not.. ^__^

  3. A friend of mine introduced egg tart to me a couple of years ago in Cantonese restaurant in Amsterdam. Since then, i just love it. Never imagined, it is possible to bake at home. Thanks for your detailed recipe😉

Leave a Reply

