Choux á la Crème / Cream Puff

As written in Wikipedia, Choux á la Crème or Cream Puff or Kue Soes as we call it in Indonesia is a choux pastry ball filled with whipped cream, pastry cream, or ice cream. I personally love it with custard or ice cream. It’s just yummy.

The first time I tried to bake it was few years ago with my little sister. She studied at hospitality management in college and she learned how to cook this treat as one of the subject. Our little experiment was a success. The puffs were light and sweet, the custard was thick and delicious with a hint of rum taste from the rum essence.

So when I want to try this recipe again few days ago, I asked my sister if she still kept her old recipe. Turn out she didn’t and that mean I need to search around the internet universe to find the recipe that might be good. And it’s so haaaard. There’s literally thousand of different recipes for this snack. In the end, I just took it from one of Indonesian cooking society and hope for the best.

And the results are…

Cream Puff:

  • 200 ml water
  • 125 gr butter
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 150 gr all-purpose flour
  • 4 eggs

How To:

  1. Boil the water, butter and sugar.
  2. Add the flour and mix it all quickly until everything are well-incorporate. Pull out from heat. Let it cool down.
  3. Add the eggs one by one into the batter and mix it well. You can use electric mixer or just manually by hand.
  4. Put in the batter into the piping bag. Form around from the middle and move it upwards.
  5. Bake in the oven that’s been heat up to 200°C for 20-25 minutes.

— ooOOoo —

Custard:

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 50 gr cornstarch
  • 500 ml milk
  • 75 gr  sugar
  • 1 tablespoon rum essence
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla essence

How To:

  1. Mix the cornstarch, egg yolks and some part of the milk together. Set aside for a while.
  2. Boil the milk and the sugar until the sugar dissolved. Pour in the mix ingredients before into the milk and mix it quickly and let it boil once again. Pull out from heat.
  3. When it’s already cold add the vanilla and rum essence.

I really love the custard. I used both vanilla and rum to cover the ‘fishy’ taste from the egg. I think the same custard recipe can also go well together with chocolate pudding by reducing the amount of cornstarch. I’m not really sure about the baking time, since it’s not stated on the original recipe that I followed. So I just guessed it myself (peeked a little at other recipes) and it turned out OK.

8 thoughts on “Choux á la Crème / Cream Puff

Leave a Reply

