Cajun Chicken & Shrimp with Pasta

Ever since the Ramadan month began two weeks ago, I rarely step foot in the kitchen to cook. The long hours of fasting and short time to eat between each day really makes me super lazy to try new recipe. Until few days ago I wanted to eat something with shrimps but don’t want to cook it with the recipes I’ve tried before. So I think about it for a while, wondering what would be perfect and the word Cajun came to mind. I tried Cajun shrimp at Bubba Gump restaurant in Bali and it was delicious. It’s really flavorful and made me want some more. So I browsed around for a Cajun shrimp recipe and found this one by My Kitchen Snippets. It’s a different type with the one I had before but it consist of chicken, shrimp and cheese… and it’s with pasta… really, how can I miss it…

Anyway, when I read along the list of ingredients, I noticed that I’m missing the main ingredient – the cajun seasoning. And sadly the supermarket near my apartment complex don’t sell it either. So I browsed around again and found out that making cajun seasoning at home is quite easy. I followed the recipe by Eat Good 4 Life, but since I don’t have the onion powder and oregano powder at home, I just skipped both.

Ingredients:

1/2 box pasta of your choice (I used wholewheat penne)
2 pc of chicken breast
1/2 lb. shrimp, peeled/deveined
1 small onion, diced
2 tomatoes – diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp of flour
1 1/2 cup half and half or heavy cream
1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp of pepper flakes
some chopped parsley
2 tsp of cajun seasoning
salt and pepper to taste

How To:

1. Cook the pasta until al-dente and set it aside. Cut chicken into thin strip and season it with the cajun seasoning.
2. Heat a bit of olive oil over medium heat in a pan. Saute the chicken breast until lightly brown. Dish out and set it aside.
2. In the same skillet add a bit of olive oil, add the onions and garlic. Saute until lightly brown. Add the flour and stir it for a minute or two, to cook off rawness of the flour.
3. Add the half and half, cheese and stir until thick. Add the shrimp, chicken and tomatoes into the skillet to cook through.
4. Season to taste with salt and pepper, pepper flakes (and more Cajun seasoning, if desired). Toss in the pasta.
5. Garnish with some chopped parsley.

Source: http://www.mykitchensnippets.com/2008/12/cajun-chicken-and-shrimp-pasta.html

I really love this dish because it’s easy and taste good also. I put more cajun seasoning before eating and tossed it together to add more flavor. The taste reminds me a bit to the other recipe I’ve tried, since it’s also have a cheese inside the cream sauce. But this one have more spicy feeling in it. This definitely be something I would make often. Oh yeah, we can use any kind of pasta, I’m gonna try it with spaghetti today and see how it’s gonna taste.

16 thoughts on “Cajun Chicken & Shrimp with Pasta

  1. Pingback: Lighter Cajun Chicken Pasta | Beautiful Disasters

  2. Pingback: Cajun Chicken & Shrimp Pasta « iTalk uTalk, iSway uSway

  3. Pingback: Bowie Bayou Shrimp Boil | Bowie Texas

  4. Pingback: Dinner Tonight: Cajun Shrimp, Corn & Potatoes - The Stitcherati

Leave a Reply

