American Risoles

One of the greatest cook I know is my mom. She made a lot of delicious foods and snacks for the family and sometimes for sale also. One of the snacks she made that’s really popular was a Risoles, a spring-roll kinda snacks but with a pancake-look-a-like skins. It’s really good. She often used ragout (chicken, egg, carrot, common bean, potato) as the regular filling for the risoles, which I really loved. But it’s been a while since she made one, so I really miss it from time to time.

Then few weeks ago, my friends started to talk about making a Risoles, etc when we chatted together. And since they talked about it constantly, it made me want to eat one too. Seriously, the power of inception is crazy. -__-” Anyway, I looked around for some recipes and I found that to make the ragout actually takes a while, since you need to cut everything to small dice then cook it, etc. Remembering how lazy I am, I was not really keen with that prospect. So I searched around for another filling recipe for the Risoles and I found this one… the American Risoles.

Risoles Skins:

  • 100 gr  all-purpose-flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 250 ml milk
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter

How to:

  • Sift flour and salt into a bowl.
  • Make a small hole in the middle of the flour and put the eggs in it. Mix everything together and make sure only go one direction.
  • Add the milk until the batter all smooth and nice. Pour in the melted butter and mix it well again.
  • Cover the batter with a plastic foil for 30 minutes.
  • When it’s done, with a small pan make the risoles skins like you make a pancake. Make sure the skins are as thin as possible.

* * * *

The Filling:

  • 3 boiled eggs
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2-3 slices of salami (you can use smoked beef or maybe ham if you prefer). Cut the meat into small size, around 1 x 3 cm.
  • Cheddar cheese – cut into the same size as the meat. It can be bigger if you want to.

The Coat:

  • 1 egg
  • breadcrumbs

* * * *

How to make the American Risoles:

  • Crush the boiled eggs and mix it with the mayonnaise.
  • Take a Risoles skin, put the egg-mayo mixture in the middle-down part of the skin. Add the meat and cheese on top.
  • Fold the skin like a spring roll.
  • Whisk an egg in a bowl. Put in the Risoles into the egg.
  • Cover it with the breadcrumbs.
  • Keep the pre-made Risoles in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour.
  • Fry it with a lot of oil on medium heat until the color of the skin changed to golden brown. Don’t need to cook it too long or the skin would start to break.
  • Serve while it’s hot with a chili sauce or chili.

Make around 12 portions.

And there you have it. A delicious snacks fits for the afternoon. I love the fact that the filling is really easy to make with a little fuss. But the skins… ooooh.. that on the other hand is another type of problem. When I mixed in the melted butter into the batter, for some reason it created a lump here and there. I had to whisk it really fast to make the lump disappear. It was really tiring. When I told my friends about the lump problem, they said “why didn’t you just strain it through a sieve?“. OMG.. why didn’t I think of it? *smack my own head*.

Oh yeah, about the name… I honestly don’t know why it called American Risoles. My best guess it’s because of the filling using meat+cheese+egg that you might find at an American breakfast in a hotel or something like that? I don’t know. But it’s a catchy name.

15 thoughts on “American Risoles

      • I guess that is a similar problem to what Americans call French Toast. Whenever we have someone from France stay with us they say, “This isn’t a French dish. Why do you call it French Toast?”

        • LMAO… it happened really often in Indonesia also, sometimes people just add a city or a country on the food’s name and others just go like “eerrrrr… why?”😀

  1. ahh aku suka bangett iniii…tapi kalo pas males bikin kulitnya, biasanya aku pake kulit lumpia mba biar praktis, atau kulit pangsit biar kres-kres mwahahahaa

Leave a Reply

