Almond Cocktail Pudding

I’m really in the mood for some pudding. I’ve made chocolate pudding before and then there’s also the delicious instant brylépudding that I love. But this time I want to try something new and something easy. As usual when I have no idea what to cook I always turns to this place – NCC Indonesia. It’s a cooking club based in Jakarta, Indonesia and they have a lot of activities, such as cooking course, online events, even food photography class every once in a while. Too bad I’m not in Jakarta any longer because it seems like nice to hang around with the members and learn new stuff. They also posted some of the recipes shared by the members in the website and I’ve tried some of the recipes there and all ended in success. Or at least the flavor fits my palate.

Anyway, they have tons of pudding recipe there and I choose one of the easiest one – Almond Cocktail Pudding. I noticed that this pudding have a lot of names for it, like tofu pudding, cocktail pudding, etc. But I’ll stick to the one that the recipe said to avoid confusion ^__^.

Ingredients:

  • 7 g Agar-agar powder (I used the 5ml measure cup/spoon, and put 10 ml of agar-agar powder  – have no clue in grams)
  • 1 l milk
  • 250 g sugar
  • 1 teaspoon almond essence
  • 1 can fruit cocktail

How To:

  • Cook the milk + agar-agar powder + sugar until boiled while keep it stirred ( I used medium heat all the time).
  • Remove from heat, let it be for a while so the steam out. Add the almond essence and mix well.
  • Pour the pudding into the cup and let it rest until half stiff.
  • Pour 1 teaspoon of fruit cocktail into the cup and keep it refrigerated for at least 2 hours before serving.
  • Can make up to 9-10 small cups.

Source: Puding Almond Gelas by: Fatmah Bahalwan

I love this pudding. It’s easy to make and taste sweet, fresh and light. When you eat it with the fruit cocktail.. hmmm… yummy. For the fruit cocktail, you can change it to any can fruit you like or make your own fruit cocktail.

The only problem I had was the almond essence. It was the first time ever I used almond essence, so I really surprised with the strong smell and flavor. OMG.. never thought it would be that bad >__<. And I almost pour 1 TABLEspoon into the pudding because I read the recipe wrong. But since the smell was too much for me, I decided to pour only 1 teaspoon. And thank god for that. Can’t even imagined what would it be if I put 1 tablespoon. It probably went straight to the trash can. For next time, I’ll try adding ½ teaspoon first and see how it taste like. Oh btw, is it normal for the essence to smell that strong?

10 thoughts on “Almond Cocktail Pudding

  1. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    petitchef.com

  2. Lihat2 foto2 di blognya Bebe terus suka recipe ini🙂

    Itu agar2nya dari Indonesia bukan? Pake agar2 rasa apa, ya?
    Kalau diganti sama vanilla atau coconut essence daripada almond essence bisa jadi nggak, Be?
    Soalnya di pantry saya nggak ada almond essence sekarang ini… hehehehehe…

    • Iya bisa pakai yang agar2 putih/bening tanpa rasa. Karena dulu aku ga punya agar2 swallow yang buatan indo itu, jadinya pakai agar2 thailand deh.. tapi tetep yang bening ^_^

      aku lebih nyaranin ganti vanilla deh daripada coconut. Apalagi kalau mau disatuin sama fruit cocktailnya..

  3. YAY!! Thanks🙂 My hubby will love this super light dessert!
    BTW, ini sangat impressive cooking blog, Be🙂
    Foto2nya sangat professional.

    • Semoga beneran suka yaaaah.. aku juga mau bikin lagi nih hari ini.. hihihi
      Thank you so much for the compliment.. Tapi aku masih harus belajar banyak food styling nih…

Leave a Reply

